Code of the District of Columbia

§ 3–1202.12. Board of Social Work.

(a) There is established a Board of Social Work to consist of 5 members appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council.

(b) The Board shall regulate the practice of social work, including categories of specialties within the social work profession.

(c) Of the members of the Board, 4 shall be social workers licensed in the District, representing each of the 4 licensing categories established by subchapter VIII of this chapter, and 1 shall be a consumer member.

(d) Except as provided in subsection (e) of this section, members of the Board shall be appointed for terms of 3 years.

(e) Of the members initially appointed under this section, 1 shall be appointed for a term of 1 year, 2 shall be appointed for a term of 2 years, and 2 shall be appointed for a term of 3 years. The terms of the members first appointed shall begin on the date that a majority of the first members are sworn in, which shall become the anniversary date for all subsequent appointments.

(Mar. 25, 1986, D.C. Law 6-99, § 212, 33 DCR 729; Oct. 7, 1987, D.C. Law 7-31, § 3(f), 34 DCR 3789.)

Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 2-3302.12.

Section References

This section is referenced in § 1-523.01.