Code of the District of Columbia

§ 38–1403. Penalty for failure to register.

Such of the officers and of the faculty of any such medical or dental college in existence on May 4, 1896, and of every such college thereafter sought to be opened in said District, which shall continue or commence to offer instruction in such capacity without first obtaining registration and permit, as hereinbefore provided, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof in the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, upon an information similar to that filed in the case of violations of the police regulations made by the said Council of the District of Columbia, shall be fined not less than $25 nor more than $250, and in default of payment thereof shall be imprisoned in the common jail of said District not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days; said fines when collected to be paid into the Treasury of the United States to the credit of the District of Columbia.

(May 4, 1896, 29 Stat. 113, ch. 154, § 4; Apr. 1, 1942, 56 Stat. 190, ch. 207,§ 1; July 29, 1970, 84 Stat. 570, Pub. L. 91-358, title I, § 155(a).)

Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 31-1703.

1973 Ed., § 31-903.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 402(242) of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to the District of Columbia Council, subject to the right of the Commissioner as provided in § 406 of the Plan. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.