Code of the District of Columbia

§ 38–2001.01. Annuity — Salary deductions.

(a) There shall be deducted and withheld from the annual salary of every teacher in the public schools of the District of Columbia an amount computed to the nearest tenth of a dollar that will be sufficient, with interest thereon at 4 per centum per annum, compounded annually, to purchase, under the provisions of this subchapter, an annuity equal to 1% of his average annual salary received during the 10 years immediately preceding retirement, for each year of his whole term of service rendered after June 30, 1926, payable monthly throughout life, for every such teacher who shall be retired, as herein provided.

(b) The deductions herein provided for shall be based on such annuity table or tables as the Council of the District of Columbia shall direct; provided, however, that said deductions shall in no case exceed 8% of his annual salary; and provided further, that when the annual salary exceeds $2,000 the deductions and benefits shall be made as on an annual salary of $2,000.

(c) The Council of the District of Columbia shall cause to be filed with the Board of Education on September 10th of each year a certificate showing the amount of deduction to be made from the salary of each teacher during the year, said deduction to be made in equal amounts, one to be deducted for each school month. A similar certificate shall be filed not later than the 15th day of each calendar month to cover cases of new entrants. No deduction shall be made from less than an entire month’s salary.

(Jan. 15, 1920, 41 Stat. 387, ch. 39, § 1; June 11, 1926, 44 Stat. 727, ch. 556, § 1.)

Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 31-1201.

1973 Ed., § 31-701.

Section References

This section is referenced in § 1-621.03 and § 1-622.04.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 402(237) of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to the District of Columbia Council, subject to the right of the Commissioner as provided in § 406 of the Plan. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.