Code of the District of Columbia

§ 50–2632. Parking of automobiles in Municipal Center; regulations; violations and penalties. [Repealed]


(June 6, 1940, 54 Stat. 241, ch. 253, §§ 1, 2, 3; June 11, 2013, D.C. Law 19-317, § 277, 60 DCR 2064; Mar. 11, 2015, D.C. Law 20-2632, § 11, 61 DCR 12690.)

Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 40-711.

1973 Ed., § 40-604a.

Effect of Amendments

The 2013 amendment by D.C. Law 19-317 substituted “not more than the amount set forth in § 22-3571.01” for “not to exceed $25” in (c).

Cross References

Regulation of parking, allocation of collected revenues, see § 50-2607.

Emergency Legislation

For temporary (90 days) amendment of this section, see § 277 of the Criminal Fine Proportionality Emergency Act of 2013 (D.C. Act 20-45, April 1, 2013, 60 DCR 5400, 20 DCSTAT 1300).

Editor's Notes

Delegation of functions: Reorganization Order No. 18, dated October 23, 1952, created in the Department of General Administration under the direction and control of the Director of General Administration, an Administrative Services Office. This office was assigned the duties of maintaining records of space allotted to District employees for parking privately owned motor vehicles on District or Federal property and also to review requests for and make recommendations for assignments and execute control of approved assignments. Reorganization Order No. 18 was revoked by Organization Order No. 3, dated December 13, 1967, Part IVA of which continued the Administrative Services Office and the parking functions thereof. The Administrative Services Office and the functions stated in Part IVA of Organization Order No. 3 were transferred to the Director of the Department of General Services by Commissioner’s Order No. 69-96, dated March 7, 1969.

Applicability of D.C. Law 19-317: Section 401 of D.C. Law 19-317 provided that the act shall apply only to offenses committed on or after June 11, 2013.

Applicability of D.C. Law 20-207: Section 12(a) of D.C. Law 20-207 provided that §§ 2(a), 2(b)(1), 2(b)(2)(A), 2(b)(2)(B), 2(b)(2)(C), 2(c), 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 shall apply as of March 11, 2015.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to a Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia (see Acts Relating to the Establishment of the District of Columbia and its Various Forms of Governmental Organization in Volume 1). Section 402(301, 302, 303) of Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1967 (see Reorganization Plans in Volume 1) transferred all of the functions of the Board of Commissioners under this section to the District of Columbia Council, subject to the right of the Commissioner as provided in § 406 of the Plan. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.